“WHO DO YOU WANT TO BE?” – A LENTEN INITIATIVE FOR SCHOOLS. Invite your students to reflect on their relationship with God, with their neighbor, and with the Earth.

A Living Tradition​​Structure of the Document​

Structure of the Document​

  1. A. A Living Tradition asks all Ignatian educators:
  2. In Part 1: Foundational Documents
    To reflect on three foundational documents that have been promulgated in the past thirty years:
    • The Characteristics of Jesuit Education, 1986
    • The Ignatian Pedagogical Paradigm, 1993
    • The Universal Apostolic Preferences of the Society of Jesus, 2019
    • Other Important Documents
  3. In Part 2: The New Global Reality
    To reflect on some of the major changes that have taken place over this time period:
    • In the socio-political reality;
    • In Education;
    • In Religious Practice;
    • In the Catholic Church;
    • In the Society of Jesus.
  4. In Part 3: Global Identifiers of Jesuit Schools
    To strengthen our schools’ participation in the new global reality. This document presents 10 key identifiers that should be present in all Jesuit schools.
  5. Jesuit schools should be:

    1. Catholic, committed to in-depth faith formation in dialogue with
      other religions and worldviews
    2. Committed to creating a safe and healthy school environment for all
    3. Committed to global citizenship
    4. Committed to the care of all creation
    5. Committed to justice
    6. Committed to be accessible for all
    7. Committed to interculturality
    8. Committed to being a global network at the service of the mission
    9. Committed to Human Excellence
    10. Committed to Life-Long Learning
  6. B. A Living Tradition is available in print; it is also available as an interactive webpage located at Educate Magis. This on-line community connects educators from Jesuit and Ignatian schools worldwide.
  7. At the end of each section of the webpage, educators can enrich A Living Tradition through interactive conversations, videos, photographs and links, reflecting the rich diversity of the six Jesuit conferences: Africa and Madagascar, Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America, North America and South Asia.