Le 22 mai 2018, nous avons mis à jour notre Déclaration de Confidentialité et nos Conditions d'Utilisation conformément à GDPR. Votre utilisation continue d'Educate Magis signifie que vous acceptez ces politiques révisées, alors veuillez prendre quelques minutes pour les lire et les comprendre ici.
COVID-19 Ressources et Recommandations Partagées par les Éducateurs de notre Communauté Mondiale

Une Tradition VivanteÉpilogue

Appendice: Esquisse schématique de la Vision du Monde d’Ignace *

(Ce qui suit présente, sous une forme schématique, les rapports entre la vision d’Ignace et les caractéristiques de l’éducation jésuite. Les neuf points de la première colonne reprennent les têtes de chapitres ignatiennes des neuf premières sections du texte donné plus haut ; les notes mettent en rapport ce qui est dit ici avec les écrits d’Ignace (essentiellement les Exercices Spirituels et les Constitutions) et avec le sommaire historique de l’appendice I. Les vingt-huit caractéristiques fondamentales de l’éducation jésuite sont reprises dans la seconde colonne, de manière à montrer comment elles sont fondées sur la vision ignatienne du monde. Cela ne doit pas être vu comme étant exactement en parallèle ; il serait plus juste de dire que les caractéristiques sont tirées de la vision ignatienne, ou y trouvent leurs racines.)

La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Pour Ignace, Dieu est le Créateur et le Seigneur, la suprême Bonté, la seule Réalité qui soit absolue [116] toute autre réalité vient de Dieu et n’a de valeur que dans la mesure où elle nous conduit à Dieu. [117] Ce Dieu est présent dans nos vies, oeuvrant pour nous en toutes choses ;

Ce Dieu est présent dans nos vies “travaillant pour nous” en toutes choses: il peut être découvert, par la foi, dans tous les événements naturels et hu-mains, dans l’histoire prise dans son ensemble et plus spécialement dans l’expérience vécue par chaque personne individuellement. [118]

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Prend le monde en compte.
  2. Aide à la formation totale de chacun au sein de la communauté humaine.
  3. Inclut une dimension religieuse qui pénètre toute l’éducation.
  4. Est un instrument apostolique.
  5. Promeut le dialogue entre foi et culture.

  1. Appendice I, (175); les noms dont use Ignace pour parler de Dieu se trouvent dans toutes ses oeuvres; voir, par exemple, Exercices, 15,16.
  2. C’est le “Principe et Fondement” des Exercices, 23; cf. supra note 8.
  3. Que Dieu travaille pour nous par la création est une pensée fondamen¬tale pour la spiritualité ignatienne. Deux exemples dans les Exercices sont la méditation sur “L’Incarnation”, 101-109, et la “Contemplation pour parvenir à l’amour”, 230-237. La citation est tirée du 236. Ignace parlait continuellement de “voir Dieu en toutes choses”; et ceci fut paraphrasé par Nadal (l’un des premiers compagnons d’Ignace) par la fameuse expression “contemplatifs dans l’action”.
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Toute personne est personnellement connue et aimée par Dieu. Cet amour appelle une réponse qui, pour être authentiquement humaine, doit être l’expression d’une liberté radicale. [119] C’est pourquoi, pour répondre à l’amour de Dieu, chaque personne est appelée à être :

  • libre de donner d’elle-même, en acceptant la responsabilité et les conséquences de ses actions: libre d’être fidèle ;
  • libre de travailler dans la foi en vue du vrai bonheur qui est le but de la vie: libre d’oeuvrer avec d’autres au service du Royaume de Dieu pour la rédemption de la création. [120]
L’Education Jésuite
  1. insiste sur le soin donné à chacun et le souci de chaque individu.
  2. souligne l’activité de la part des élèves.
  3. encourage une ouverture de toute la vie au progrès.

  1. Appendice I (173).
  2. Le but poursuivi en faisant les Exercices Spirituels, a été résumé dans l’expression: “Liberté spirituelle”. Ignace leur donne lui-même le titre: “Exercices Spirituels pour se vaincre soi-même et ordonner sa vie sans se décider en raison de quelque affection qui serait désor¬donnée” (21).
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Par suite du péché et des effets du péché, la liberté de répondre à Dieu n’est pas automatique. Aidés et fortifiés par l’amour rédempteur de Dieu, nous sommes engagés dans une lutte constante pour déceler et combattre les obstacles qui s’opposent à la liberté – y compris les effets du péché -, tout en développant les capacités nécessaire pour l’exercice d’une vraie liberté. [121]

  • Cette liberté requiert que l’on se connaisse, s’aime et s’accepte vraiment soi-même, en même temps que l’on soit déterminé à se libérer de tout attachement désordonné: à la richesse, à la renommée, à la santé, au pouvoir ou à toute autre chose, à la vie elle-même. [122]
  • Une vraie liberté requiert aussi que l’on connaisse d’une manière réaliste les diverses forces présentes dans le monde qui nous entoure; elle suppose que l’on se libère d’une perception gauchie de la réalité, de valeurs erronées, et d’attitudes rigides ou d’idéologies étroites. [123]
  • Pour travailler en vue de cette vraie liberté, on doit apprendre à reconnaître les influences pouvant promouvoir ou limiter la liberté et à agir en conséquence: ce sont les mouvements de notre coeur, les expériences passées de toutes sortes, nos réactions face aux autres, toute la dynamique de l’histoire, des structures sociales et de la culture. [124]
L’Education Jésuite
  1. Est orientée vers des valeurs.
  2. Encourage une connaissance, un amour et une acceptation réalistes de soi-même.
  3. Assure une connaissance réaliste du monde dans lequel nous vivons.

  1. Appendice I (172); ceci est un résumé de la “Première Semaine” des Exercices.
  2. Appendice I (173); Exercices 1; 313-329 (“Règles pour le discernement des esprits”).
  3. Appendice I (173); Exercices 142-146 (“Les Deux Etendards”).
  4. Exercices, 24-42 (“L’examen de conscience”) et “Les Deux Etendards”, supra.
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

La vue d’Ignace sur le monde est centrée la personne historique de Jésus Christ. [125] Il est le modèle de toute vie humaine à cause de sa réponse en-tière à l’amour du Père dans le service des autres.

Il partage notre condition humaine et nous invite à le suivre sous l’étendard de la croix, dans une réponse d’amour au Père. [126]

Il est vivant au milieu de nous et demeure l’Homme-pour-les-autres dans le service de Dieu.

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Propose le Christ comme modèle de vie humaine.
  2. Assure une aide pastorale adéquate.
  3. Manifeste sa foi dans une prière, uncult et un service qui sont aussi bien personnels que communautaires.

  1. Appendice I (173), (182); Exercices 53, 95-98 (“Le Règne du Christ”), 167 (“Le Troisième Degré d’Humilité”). Les 2e, 3e et 4e Semaines des Exercices ont pour but de conduire à un engagement à suivre le Christ.
  2. Exercices, 116 (La “Contemplation de la Nativité”); voir aussi “Les Deux Etendards” cités plus haut.
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Une réponse d’amour, une réponse libre à l’amour de Dieu ne peut pas être simplement d’ordre spéculatif et théologique. Quel qu’en soit le prix, des principes doivent conduire à une décision et une action: “l’amour doit se prouver par les actes”. [127]

Ignace demande un engagement total et actif d’hommes et de femmes qui, “pour imiter le Christ et lui ressembler plus effectivement, mettront leur idéal en pratique dans le monde réel des idées, des mouvements sociaux, des familles, des affaires, des structures politiques et juridiques et des activités religieuses. [128]

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Est une préparation à un engagement dans la vie active.
  2. Est au service de la foi qui fait la justice.
  3. Cherche à former des “hommes-et-des-femmes-pour-les-autres”.
  4. Manifeste un souci particulier pour les pauvres.

  1. Appendice I (173), (179); Exercices 135; 169-189 (l'”Election”).
  2. Appendice I (177), (184).
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Pour Ignace, la réponse à l’appel du Christ se fait dans et par l’Eglise Catholique Romaine, l’instrument par lequel le Christ est sacrementellement présent dans le monde. [129] Marie, mère du Christ, est le modèle de cette réponse. [130]

Ignace et ses premiers compagnons furent tous, comme prêtres, ordonnés au service du Vicaire du Christ et c’est à ce même service qu’ils mirent la Compagnie de Jésus,afin de “se rendre là où il jugera que doit en résulter un plus grand service de Dieu notre Seigneur et un plus grand bien des âmes”.” [131]

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Est un instrument apostolique au service de l’Eglise tout en servant la société humaine.
  2. Prépare les élèves à une participation active à la vie de l’Eglise et de la communauté locale, au service des autres.

  1. Exercices, 352-370 (“Règles pour avoir le vrai sens de l’Eglise”); Constitutions [3], [603] et passim à travers les écrits d’Ignace. Quand il n’eut plus la possibilité d’aller en Terre Sainte pour y ser¬vir directement le Christ, Ignace choisit “la meilleure chose la plus proche” et se rendit à Rome pour servir l’Eglise sous le “Vicaire du Christ”.
  2. La dévotion à Marie, Mère de Jésus, est évidente à travers toute la vie d’Ignace; c’est par Montserrat qu’il commenca son pèlerinage (Appendice I, (171); elle apparaît tout au long des Exercices, par exemple 47, 63, 102ss, 111ss, 147, 218, 299.
  3. Appendice I (180), (182). Selon certains, Ignace serait à l’origine de l’expression “Vicaire du Christ”; que cela soit vrai ou non, la loyauté envers le Pape caractérise Ignace et la Compagnie qu’il a fondée.
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

A plusieurs reprises Ignace a insisté sur le “magis”, le davantage. Son souci constant fut un plus grand service de Dieu en suivant de plus près le Christ, et ce souci fut à l’origine de tout le travail apostolique des premiers compagnons. Une réponse concrète à Dieu doit être “de plus grand prix”. [132]

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Recherche l’excellence dans son travail de formation.
  2. Rend témoignage à l’excellence.

  1. Appendice (173); Exercices 97, 155.
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Lorsqu’Ignace eut découvert l’amour de Dieu révélé dans le Christ et voulut répondre à cet amour en se consacrant au service du Royaume de Dieu, il partagea son expérience avec d’autres et réunit des compagnons qui devinrent des “amis dans le Seigneur” au service des autres. [133]

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Insiste sur la collaboration laïcs-Jésuites.
  2. Repose sur un esprit communautaire au sein de l’ensemble des enseignants et des cadres administratifs, de la communauté jésuite, des Conseils responsables, des parents, des élèves, des anciens élèves, des bienfaiteurs.
  3. Se situe au sein d’une structure qui favorise la communauté.

  1. Appendice I (178), (181).
La Vision Ignatienne du Monde

Pour Ignace et pour ses compagnons, les décisions étaient prises en s’appuyant sur l’usage continuel du “discernement” individuel et communautaire, toujours dans un contexte de prière. Par une réflexion dans la prière sur les résultats de leurs activités, les compagnons passaient en revue leurs décisions passées et adaptaient leurs méthodes, dans une constante recherche d’un plus grand service de Dieu (“magis”). [134]

L’Education Jésuite
  1. Adapte moyens et méthodes dans le but de réaliser plus efficacement ce qu’elle se propose.
  2. Est un “système” de collèges ayant une vision commune et des buts communs.
  3. Aide à la formation professionnelle et à la formation permanente nécessaires, tout spécialement pour les enseignants.

  1. Il y a une progression dans le “discernement des esprits” au cours de la vie d’Ignace; ceci fut tout à fait évident à Manrèse (Appendice I, 170), mais cela se poursuivit tout au long de sa vie. Un court docu¬ment intitulé “La délibération des Premiers Pères” décrit le discerne-ment des Premiers Compagnons d’Ignace pour l’établissement de la Com¬pagnie de Jésus. Voir aussi Appendice I (189)-(193) (processus condui¬sant au premier Ratio Studiorum) et Exercices, 3l3-336 (“Règles pour le discernement des esprits”).

On May 22nd 2018, we updated our Privacy Statement and our Terms of Use in compliance with GDPR. Your continued use of Educate Magis means you agree to these revised policies, so please take a few minutes to read and understand them here.
Educate Magis Celebrates 5 years of Connecting Educators from Jesuit Schools Around the World!

A Living Tradition​Epilogue

Appendix: A Schematic Outline *

*Original document taken from The Characteristics of Jesuit Education (1986), Appendix II: A Schematic Outline. The text has been minimally modified by Fr. José Mesa SJ to make it easier to understand.

(This outline puts into a schematic the relationship between the spiritual vision of Ignatius and the characteristics of Jesuit education. The nine points in the first column repeat the Ignatian headings for the first nine sections of the main body of the text; the footnotes relate this material to writings of Ignatius (primarily the Spiritual Exercises and the Constitutions), and to the paragraphs of the historical summary given in Appendix I. The 28 basic characteristics of Jesuit education are repeated in the second column, placed in a way that is intended to show their foundation in the Ignatian worldview. This is not intended to show an exact parallel: rather than a direct application, it would be more accurate to say that the characteristics are derived from, or find their roots in, the Ignatian vision.)

Ignatian Worldview

For Ignatius, God is Creator and Lord, Supreme Goodness, the one Reality that is absolute;[116] all 2. Assists in the total formation of each individual within the human community. other reality comes from God and has value only insofar as it leads us to God.[117] This God is present in our lives, “laboring for us” in all things;

He can be discovered through faith in all natural and human events, in history as a whole, and most especially in the lived experience of each individual person.[118]

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Is world-affirming.
  2. Assists in the total formation of each individual within the human community.
  3. Includes a religious dimension that permeates the entire education.
  4. Is an apostolic instrument.
  5. Promotes dialogue between faith and culture.

  1. Appendix 1 (183/); the names that Ignatius uses for God can be found throughout his works; see, for example, Exercises §§ 15,16.
  2. This is the Principle and Foundation of the Exercises, § 23; see note 8, above.
  3. God working for us through creation is basic to lgnatian Spirituality. Two examples in the Exercises are the meditation on the “Incarnation,” §§ 101-109, and the “Contemplation for Obtaining Love” §§ 230-237. The quotation is from § 236. Ignatius talked repeatedly about “seeing God in all things” and this was paraphrased by Nadal (one of the first companions of Ignatius) into the famous “contemplatives in action.”
Ignatian Worldview

Each man or woman is personally known and loved by God. This love invites a response which, to be authentically human, must be an expression of a radical freedom.[119] Therefore, in order to respond to the love of God, each person is called to be:

  • Free to give of oneself, while accepting responsibility for and the consequences of one’s actions: free to be faithful;
  • Free to work in faith toward that true happiness which is the purpose of life: free to labor with others in the service of the Kingdom of God for the healing of creation.[120]
Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Insists on individual care and concern for each person.
  2. Emphasizes activity on the part of the student.
  3. Encourages life-long openness to growth

  1. Appendix I (1841).
  2. The purpose of making the Spiritual Exercises has been summed up in the expression “Spiritual Freedom.” Ignatius himself gives them the title “Spiritual Exercises, which have as their purpose the conquest of self and the regulation of one’s life in such a way that no decision is made under the influence of any inordinate attachment.” (§ 21).
Ignatian Worldview

Quest for Freedom Because of sin, and the effects of sin, the freedom to respond to God’s love is not automatic. Aided and strengthened by the redeeming love of God, we are engaged in an ongoing struggle to recognize and work against the obstacles that block freedom, including the effects of sinfulness, while developing the capacities that are necessary for the exercise of true freedom.[121]

  • This freedom requires a genuine knowledge, love, and acceptance of self, joined to a determination to be freed from any excessive attachment to wealth, fame, health, power, or even life itself.[122]
  • True freedom also requires a realistic knowledge of the various forces present in the surrounding world and includes freedom from distorted perceptions of reality, warped values, rigid attitudes, or surrender to narrow ideologies.[123]
  • To work toward this true freedom, one must learn to recognize and deal with the influences that can promote or limit freedom: the movements within one’s own heart; past experiences of all types; interactions with other people; the dynamics of history, social structures, and culture.[124]
Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Is value-oriented.
  2. Encourages a realistic knowledge, love,
    and acceptance of self.
  3. Provides a realistic knowledge of the
    world in which we live.

  1. Appendix I (183/); this statement is a summary of the “First Week” of the Exercises.
  2. Appendix 1 (184/); Exercises § 1; §§ 313-329 (“Rules for the Discernment of Spirits”).
  3. Appendix 1 (184/); Exercises §§ 142-146 (“The Two Standards”).
  4. Exercises §§ 24-42 (“The Examination of Conscience”), and “The Two Standards,” above.
Ignatian Worldview

The worldview of Ignatius is centered on the historical person of Jesus.[125] He is the model for human life because of his total response to the Father’s love, in the service of others.

He shares our human condition and invites us to, for him, under the standard of the cross, in loving response to the Father.[126]

He is alive in our midst and remains the Man for others in the service of God.

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Proposes Christ as the model of human life.
  2. Provides adequate pastoral care.
  3. Celebrates faith in personal and community prayer, worship, and service.

  1. Appendix 1 (184/), (193/); Exercises § 53, §§ 95-98 (“The Kingdom ol Christ”) § 167 (“The Third Degree of Humility”). The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th “Weeks” of the Exercises are intended to lead to a commitment to the following of Christ.
  2. Exercises § 116 (“Contemplation on the Nativity”); see also “The Two Standards” noted above.
Ignatian Worldview

A loving and free response to God’s love cannot be merely speculative or theoretical. No matter what the cost, speculative principles must lead to decisive action: “love is shown in deeds.”[127]

Ignatius asks for the total and active commitment of men and women who, to imitate and be more like Christ, will put their ideals into practice in the real world of ideas, social movements, the family, business, political and legal structures, and religious activities.[128]

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Preparation for active life commitment
  2. Serves the faith that does justice.
  3. Seeks to form “men and women for others.”
  4. Manifests a particular concern for the poor.

  1. Appendix 1 (184/), (190/); Exercises § 135, §§ 169-189 (“The Election”).
  2. Appendix / (188/), (184).
Ignatian Worldview

For Ignatius the response to the call of Christ is in and through the Roman Catholic Church, the instrument through which Christ is sacramentally present in the world.[129] Mary the Mother of Jesus is the model of this response.[130]

Ignatius and his first companions all were ordained as priests and they put the Society of Jesus at the service of the Vicar of Christ, “to go to any place whatsoever where he judges it expedient to send them for the greater glory of God and the good of souls.”[131]

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Is an apostolic instrument, in service of the Church as it serves the human society.
  2. Prepares students for active participation in the church and the local community, for the service of others.

  1. Exercises §§ 352-370 (“Rules for Thinking with the Church”); Constitutions, Formula (pp. 66-68), [3), [603], and passim throughout the writings of Ignatius. When he realized that it would not be possible to go to the Holy Land to serve Christ directly, Ignatius chose “the next best thing” by going to Rome to serve the church under the “Vicar of Christ.”
  2. Devotion to Mary, the Mother of Jesus, Is evident throughout the whole life of Ignatius; as noted in Appendix 1 (171), it was at Montserrat that his pilgrimage began; Mary appears throughout the Exercises, for example in§§ 47, 63, 10211, 1111, 147, 218, 299.
  3. Appendix I (1911), (793/). According to some authors, Ignatius was the originator of the expression “Vicar of Christ” whether that be true or not, loyalty to the Pope is characteristic both of Ignatius and of the Society of Jesus that he founded.
Ignatian Worldview

Repeatedly, Ignatius insisted on the “Magis” -the more. His constant concern was for greater service to God through a closer following of Christ, and that concern flowed into all the apostolic work of the first companions. The concrete response to God must be “of greater value.”[132]

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Pursues excellence in its work of
    formation.
  2. Witnesses to excellence.

  1. Appendix 1 (184/); Exercises §§ 97, 155.
Ignatian Worldview

Repeatedly, Ignatius insisted on the “Magis” -the more. His constant concern was for greater service to God through a closer following of Christ, and that concern flowed into all the apostolic work of the first companions. The concrete response to God must be “of greater value.”[132]

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Stresses Lay-Jesuit collaboration.
  2. Relies on spirit of community among teaching staff, administrators, Jesuit community, governing boards, parents, students, former students, and benefactors.
  3. Takes place within a structure that promotes community.

  1. Appendix / (1891), (1921).
Ignatian Worldview

For Ignatius and for his companions, decisions were made on the basis of an ongoing process of individual and communal “discernment” done always in a context of prayer. Through prayerful reflection on the results of their activities, the companions reviewed past decisions and made adaptations in their methods, in a constant search for greater service to God (“Magis”).[134]

Characteristic of Jesuit Education
  1. Adapts means and methods in order to achieve its purposes most effectively.
  2. Is a “system” of schools with a common vision and common goals.
  3. Assists in providing the professional training and ongoing formation that is needed, especially for teachers.

  1. The “discernment of spirits” is present in the whole life of Ignatius; it is already evident at Manresa (Appendix 1, 181/), but it is constantly growing throughout his life. A short document entitled “The Deliberations of the First Fathers” describes the discernment of the first companions of Ignatius that led to the establishment of the Society of Jesus. See also Appendix 1 (189)-(193) for the process that led to the first Ratio Studiorum and Exercises §§ 313-336 (“Rules for the Discernment of Spirits”).